Bengaluru Lockdown: Bengaluru And 8 other Dists. In K’taka To Go On Lock-down. Here Are The Details

bengaluru lockdown

As per the Centre’s directives to lockdown places with confirmed COVID-19 cases, Bengaluru and 8 other districts in Karnataka will go on near lockdown till 31st March 2020. This will be effective from 23rd March 2020.

The names of the districts which are in lockdown mode are: Bengaluru urban, Bengaluru rural, Mangaluru, Mysuru, Kalaburgi, Dharwad, Chikkaballapur, Kodagu and Belagavi.


According to the government, buses, trains, and metros will not operate in these areas but rickshaws and cabs will continue to work through but every advisory asks the citizens not to partake in non-essential travel. There will also be a temporary ban on commercial activities but grocery stores, vegetable stores, and pharmacies will remain open.

The government also shut down several districts across India in fears of community spreading of the virus. New Delhi was also put on near lockdown today until 31st March as announced by CM Arvind Kejriwal.

Famous Delhi metro will also remain closed as Delhi has reported 27 cases so far with 6 falling under the category of transmission.


“As per the latest decision in the fight against coronavirus, it has been decided that metro services will remain completely closed till March 31, 2020,” DMRC said in a statement.

Kejriwal also clarified “All private offices will remain closed but the employees – both permanent and contractual – will be considered to be on-duty. The companies will have to provide them the salary for this duration.”