8,000 Guests Including High-Profile World Leaders To Attend Swearing-in Ceremony Of PM Modi

narendra modi swearing in ceremony guest list

Around 8000 guests including some high-profile world leaders are expected to be a part of the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi at 7 pm on May 30. Modi-led BJP party gained a landslide victory in the recent Lok Sabha elections 2019 and he is now all set to take the reins for the second term in succession.

8000 Guests To Attend Ceremony  

As per the norms, the President of India, Ram Nath Kovind will be administering the oath of office and secrecy to the PM at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi. The ceremony will take place in the presence of other members of the Union Council and a large gathering that will include international and national dignitaries.

As per reports, a record number of 8,000 guests are expected to be present during the swearing-in ceremony. It should be noted that around 5000 people attended the ceremony in 2014 when Modi was sworn in as the PM of India for the first time.

So who are these guests?

Guests From India

Prominent people who are to attend the ceremony will include heads of the neighboring countries, chief ministers of almost all the Indian states, and some of the famous personalities from the world of entertainment. Incidentally, the PM has also invited the families of 50 BJP workers who recently lost lives during West Bengal’s Political violence in the last one year.

Apart from West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Singh Bhaghel, and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik all the CM’s of Indian states are expected to be present at the ceremony.  Reports say that the TMC leader Mamata Banerjee rejected the invitation to protest against the alleged political murders in her state.

CM’s who are most likely to attend the ceremony include Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy, Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao, and newly elected Andhra Pradesh CM Jagan Mohan Reddy. Former UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi from the opposition have already confirmed their attendance.

As a custom, the previous prime ministers, presidents, and veteran politicians of all the parties attend the swearing-in ceremony.  

Dignitaries From Foreign Countries

As per reports, all BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Corporation) country leaders have confirmed their attendance for the ceremony. The BIMSTEC countries include Bhutan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Thailand, Myanmar, and Sri Lanka apart from India.

Bangladesh President Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, and Nepal PM KP Sharma Oli will be present at Modi’s swearing-in ceremony. According to the MEA (Ministry of External Affairs) spokesperson Raveesh Kumar, the Bhutanese PM Lotay Tshering and Myanmar President U Win Myint are also coming for the ceremony. Grisada Boonrach, a Special Envoy will represent Thailand.  

Mauritius PM Pravin Kumar Jugnauth and President of Kyrgyzstan Sooronbay Jeenbekov have also confirmed their presence to MEA. Chairman and Managing Director of the IMF, Christine Lagarde is also one of the high profile invitees. The Indian PM is expected to hold bilateral talks with these international leaders on May 31.  

Big Names From Business World

Indian big names from the business world including Gautam Adani, Mukesh Ambani, and Ratan Tata have also been invited along with business honchos John Chambers, Ajay Piramal, and Bill Gates.

Celebrities From Films & Sports

Cricketers Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, former sprinter P T Usha, badminton coach Pulella Gopichand, badminton ace Saina Nehwal, and gymnast Dipa Karmakar are the sports personalities invited for the PM’s swearing-in ceremony.

From the film fraternity, superstar Kamal Haasan, and Rajnikant, Kangana Ranaut, Sanjay Bhansali, Shah Rukh Khan, and Karan Johar have received an invitation. None of these invitees have confirmed their presence.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here