Full-List Of Activities permitted in Red, Orange and Green Zones of Bengaluru

Bengaluru lockdown 3.0 (1)
Courtesy: Twitter

Bengaluru has entered the third phase of the lockdown after being marked as red zone by the central government along with Mysuru and Bengaluru Rural. The lockdown will come into effect from the 4th of May up until two weeks.

The Information and Technology hub of India and the state capital have reported 150 cases of coronavirus yet. While 75 people have recovered from COVID-19, there are 68 active cases in the city. The rural part of Bengaluru had reported 6 cases and all of them have recovered.


Depending on the number of active cases in the region, the central government has divided all the districts into three zones namely red, orange, and green. Red zones are the district with the most number of active cases. District with zero cases fall under green zones while the districts where the outbreak seems to be decreasing. Bengaluru has been classified as a red zone.

Bengaluru lockdown 3.0
Courtesy: Twitter

As per a report in The Hindu, the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike has categorized 22 wards in the Bengaluru Urban district. The remaining 176 wards are either orange or green zones. The wards under red zones are Deepanjali Nagar, Hagaduru, Byrasandra, Radhakrishna Temple, MarutiSeva Nagar, Ramaswamy Palya, Padarayanapura, Pullkeshi Nagar, Jagjivanram Nagar, Vasanth Nagar, ChalavadiPalya, Sudhama Nagar, KR Market, Hosahalli, RR Nagar, Hampi Nagar, Bilekahalli, Bapuji Nagar, Hongasandra, Yeshwanthpur, Shakhambari Nagar, Karisandra.

Activities permitted in Red, Orange, and Green Zones

For the red zone wards in Bengaluru, the list of activities permitted and restricted are:


  • Individuals and vehicles are allowed to move only for permitted activities. Private four-wheeler can have a maximum of two people along with driver and no pillion riders in two-wheelers.
  • Private offices can function with a maximum of 33 percent workforce. The remaining staff to work from home.
  • Shops selling essential goods in market and market complexes allowed. Standalone shops and neighborhood shops in residential complexes to continue to operate. In rural areas, barring malls, all other shops can be opened.
  • In Urban areas, only Special Economic Zones, Export Oriented Units, Industrial estates and industrial townships are allowed with access control. In rural areas, all industrial activity permitted.
  • E-commerce companies are allowed to deliver only essential goods.
  • All government offices can function with officers of the level of Deputy Secretary and above to the extent of 100 percent strength.
  • Health and Family welfare services, Defence and Security services, Police, Prisons, Home Guards, Civil Defence, Fire and Emergency services, Disaster management, and related services to function.
  • Construction activities allowed in rural areas.
  • All health services, financial institutions, non-banking finance corporations, insurance, and capital market activities and credit co-operative societies to operate.
  • Public utilities in power, water, sanitation, waste management, telecommunications, and the internet to continue to function.

For the orange zone areas:

  • Inter-district and intra-district buses can operate in orange zones.
  • Taxis and cabs with two passengers are allowed.
  • Only for permitted activities, private vehicles to be allowed to commute between districts with four-wheelers having a maximum of two passengers apart from the driver.
  • All permitted activities of the red zone.

For the green zone regions

  • Buses and bus depot can operate with 50 percent capacity.
  • All permitted activities of the red zone and orange zone allowed.

Source: Firstpost