Two New Containment Zones in Bengaluru : Karnataka crosses 4,000 cases, 20 new cases in the City

Karnataka Coronavirus
Courtesy: The Hindu

The number of coronavirus cases in the state has been significantly increasing over the past two weeks. On Wednesday, the state crossed 4,000 cases.

The state recorded 267 positive cases on Wednesday across the state. Of all the 267 cases, 250 of them are returnees from Maharashtra, the worst-hit state. With Wednesday’s increase, the state’s tally now stands at 4,063. Kalaburgi which previously had reported 100 cases on Tuesday recorded over 105 more cases on Wednesday alone. With that, Kalaburgi becomes the worst affected district in the state with 510 cases. That is followed by Udupi with 472 cases.


The capital city of Bengaluru recorded over 20 cases on Wednesday all of whom are returnees from other states. However, 111 people were discharged after they successfully recovered from COVID-19 in the state. The state also recorded another death as an 80-year-old woman succumbed to the disease in Davangere. The death toll in the state is at 53.

New Clusters found in Bengaluru

Over 10 new containment zones have been added to the list on Monday and that has left the citizens and the officials worried. The city was geared up to welcome Unlock 1.0 from June 1st but the rise in the number of cases is hampering the spirit. The BBMP Commissioner BH Anil Kumar spoke to the media and explained that the rise in the number of cases is because of people coming in from other states as most of the cases are either people who have come from Maharashtra or their contacts.

Bengaluru coronavirus
Courtesy: The News Minute

The commissioner also explained that there are repeated names of the wards in the list which is due to more areas in the ward reporting cases. As per the BBMP war room bulletin, then ten newly added containment zones will remain active till at least June 27th while other wards which were added earlier is set to see some relaxations from the 6th of June. The bulletin also mentions the extension of containment measures in some of the wards.


On Wednesday, two new containment areas were added –  an apartment in VV Puram and a designated street in the Malleshwaram ward which was already a containment zone.

Here is the list of containment zones:

  • Hongasandra (W-189)
  • Mangammanapalya (W-190)
  • Begur (W-192)
  • Puttenhalli (W-187)
  • Bommanahalli (W-175)
  • HSR Layout (W-174)
  • Hoodi (W-54)
  • Hagadur (W-84
  • Varthur (W-149)
  • Ramamurthy Nagar (W-26)
  • Marathalli (W-86)
  • Kadugodi (W-83)
  • Nagavara (W-23)
  • HBR Layout (W-24)
  • Shivajinagar (W-92)
  • Vammarpet (W-115)
  • SK Garden (W-61)
  • Agaram (W-114)
  • BTM Layout (W-176)
  • Lakkasandra (W-146)
  • Siddapura (W-144)
  • Hosahalli (W-124)
  • Malleshwaram (W-45)
  • Padaranayapura (W-135)
  • Jagajeevanram Nagar (W-136)
  • Marappana Palya (W-44)
  • Agrahara Dasarahalli (W-105)
  • Thanisandra (W-06)
  • Herohalli (W-72)
  • Jnanabharathinagar (W-129)
  • Chokkasandra (W-39)
  • Jayamahal (W-63)
  • Chalavadipalya (W-138)
  • Kempegowda (W-1)