Women’s IPL Starts Today: Three Teams With International Stars From Five Different Countries. Go Girls!

women’s cricket

The 21st Century has been an era of great evolution for women’s cricket in particular and women’s sport in general. For those who argue against women in sports, especially cricket, a market for them rarely exist. As part of their ongoing attentiveness to grow the women’s cricket, BCCI is delighted to announce the 2019 Women’s T20 Challenge. It is an extension of the single IPL women’s T20 exhibition game that was held during the IPL last year. As for the last time, only two teams, the Trailblazers and the Supernovas featured in the one-off game, this time around a third team, Velocity has been added.

What’s New?

The three teams will be led by the three most popular female cricketers in India: Harmanpreet Kaur will captain the Supernovas, in their blue and black colors. Smriti Mandhana will lead the Trailblazers in yellow and pink, and Mithali Raj will captain Velocity in purple. However, each squad of 13 also includes four overseas players.

The Smash Sisters, Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine of New Zealand will be in attendance, though in different teams. Danni Wyatt and Natalie Sciver are also here from England. Sri Lanka captain Chamari Athapaththu will make her first appearance in this pursuit. Three players from West Indian will also feature for the first time, along with Jahanara Alam of Bangladesh.

women’s cricket

For the rest of the days, the Sawai Mansingh Stadium will be the focal point of the women’s cricket universe. It will be tuff to say that the world’s best cricketers will grace the pink city due to some conspicuous absentees but rarely does India get to see such a congregation, with players from five different countries joining the best of Indian talent for the IPL Women’s T20 Challenge.

6th May 2019Supernovas vs TrailblazersSawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
8th May 2019Trailblazers vs VelocitySawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
9th May 2019Supernovas vs VelocitySawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
11th May 2019Final – 1st placed vs 2nd placedSawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur


People took to Twitter and expressed their statements regarding the WomenT20 




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here