With Increase In Cases, BBMP Seeks Help Of RWA To Control The Spread Of COVID-19

Sunday Lockdown
Courtesy: The Financial Express

With the Karnataka government revising the Standard of Procedures for Asymptomatic travelers from the state of Maharashtra who will now have to be under quarantine for 21 days, the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike has turned towards Resident welfare societies for help.

The passengers coming in from the state of Maharashtra will now be made to under quarantine for 21 days with 14 days of institutional quarantine followed by 7 days of strict home quarantine. The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike has asked the Resident Welfare Societies to be the watchdog of those people in-home quarantine and help the municipal body to stop the spread of the disease. This also comes at a time when the number of cases in the city has continued to rise and so has the containment zones.


On Saturday, Bengaluru has witnessed over 18 new cases on Saturday that have raised the total cases in the city increasing to 162 active cases. At the same time, the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike war room also added nine new areas to containment zone in one single day. The total number of containment zones in the city has now reached 49. The new additions include areas from HSR Layout, Jayamahal, VV Puram, Singasandra, Bellandur, Padarayanapura, Nagawara, SK Garden, and Chokkasandra.

Increase in Containment Zones

Bengaluru coronavirus (4)
Courtesy: The Week

The area of Padarayanapura has been given special attention by the officials of Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike and the Health department as the cases in the area raised to 67. SK Garden has 16 cases. The municipal body has so far held two meetings with the Resident Welfare Association and directions have been given to them to inform policy and health officials if they found any violation of quarantine rules. The Commissioner of the municipal body, BH Anil Kumar said,

“We have now decided to ensure strict home quarantine. Special teams are being formed to ensure that citizens and officials work in tandem. The RWAs are being asked to monitor the people as the use of technology is limited. Citizens will also have to ensure that social distancing is maintained. We have been told not to interact directly with those in quarantine, but if we see any cases, we have to inform the police and health officials. In every containment zone police outposts are set up and we have been told to work closely with them. We have been told to keep a watch on people wandering outside and near the homes which have been stamped.”

Here is the list of containment zones:

  • Mangammanapalya (W-190)
  • Begur (W-192)
  • Puttenhalli (W-187)
  • Arakere (W-193)
  • Bommanahalli (W-175)
  • HSR Layout (W-174)
  • Hoodi (W-54)
  • Hagadur (W-84
  • Varthur (W-149)
  • Ramamurthy Nagar (W-26)
  • Marathalli (W-86)
  • Kadugodi (W-83)
  • Bellandur (W-150)
  • Doddanekundi (W-85)
  • Nagavara (W-23)
  • HBR Layout (W-24)
  • Vammarpet (W-115)
  • SK Garden (W-61)
  • Agaram (W-114)
  • Jayamahal (W-63)
  • BTM Layout (W-176)
  • Lakkasandra (W-146)
  • Siddapura (W-144)
  • Hosahalli (W-124)
  • Visvesvarapuram (W-143)
  • Malleshwaram (W-45)
  • Padaranayapura (W-135)
  • Jagajeevanram Nagar (W-136)
  • Marappana Palya (W-44)
  • Chalavadipalya (W-138)
  • Agrahara Dasarahalli (W-105)
  • Subhash Nagar (W-95)
  • Subramanya Nagar (W-66)
  • Azadnagar (W-141)
  • Nayandhalli (W-131)
  • Rayapuram (W-137)
  • Thanisandra (W-06)
  • Kempegowda (W-01)
  • Yelahanka New Town (W-04)
  • Doddabommasandra (W-10)
  • Herohalli (W-72)
  • Jnanabharathinagar (W-129)
  • Kotigepalya (W-73)
  • Chokkasandra (W-39)