This Tamil Superstar Is Now Invited To Join Oscar Committee, Here’s What We Know

Suriya is the first Tamil actor to be invited to the Oscar committee. Along with Suriya, 397 artists, including Kajol, have been invited to the 2022 class.

Suriya invited to the Oscar committee

On Tuesday (June 28), The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invited 397 artists and executives to join the Class of 2022. Among the list, Suriya, Kajol, and director-writer Reema Kagti will represent India this year. This is indeed a huge achievement for the Tamil actor. With this, Suriya is the first Tamil actor to be invited to the Oscar organizer’s membership committee.


This comes in after Suriya’s Jai Bhim and Soorarai Pottru, which were released on Amazon Prime Video, got international recognition. Though he has had many blockbuster films under his credit, these two films reached a broader audience.

Now, Suriya has been selected to join the Oscar organizer’s membership ranks. The Class of 2022 will include 71 Oscar nominees and 15 winners. Suriya is the first Tamil actor to join the Oscar committee. This is indeed a remarkable honor for the actor.

Members of the Class of 2022

The organization that puts on the Oscars said Tuesday that 44 percent of the 2022 class recognizes as women, 50 percent come from outside of the US and 37 percent are from underrepresented ethnic and racial communities. If the invitees accept, which most do, they will have voting privileges at the 95th Academy Awards.


Actors invited this year include Anya Taylor-Joy, Jessie Buckley, Gaby Hoffman, Belfast co-stars Jamie Dornan and Caitríona Balfe, as well as Jesse Plemons and Kodi Smit-McPhee.

Billie Eilish, Finneas O’Connell, Olga Merediz, Kodi Smit-MPhee, and several others have been invited this year too.

There is also a significant international presence as well, with invites going to India’s Kajol (My Name is Khan), Iran’s Amir Jadidi (A Hero), Norway’s Renate Reinsve (The Worst Person in the World), France’s Vincent London (Titane).


Directors on the list include Andrew Ahn (Fire Island), Reinaldo Marcus Green (King Richard), Mary Lambert (Pet Sematary II), Amy Seimetz (She Dies Tomorrow), and Isabel Sandoval (Lingua Franca).