State Govt. To Create New Metro Station Along K R Puram-Airport Metro Line

metro along k r puram and air port line

The state government of Karnataka has decided to create a new Metro station at Bettahalasuru between Bagalur Cross and Trumpet Junction. This new metro station will be along the K R Puram-Kempegowda International Airport Metro Line (2B Line).

With the announcement of this new metro station, the originally planned Channasandra Metro stations and Kasturi Nagar have now been merged into a single station. 


Estimated Cost Remains Same Despite New Addition

The state government has also approved the proposal of renaming four Metro stations put forth by the Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) in its order issued on July 20. The 38-km Airport Line will have 17 Metro stations. Despite the incorporation of a new station, the cost of this Airport Line will remain at the originally estimated Rs.10,584.15. It is because the new station will be funded by a private firm. 

The Managing Director, Ajay Seth told media, “BMRCL will float tenders for the Airport Line by the beginning of October. The new station has been introduced taking into consideration rapid developments taking place North of Yelahanka. The overall cost does not change.” The proposal for a new station was forwarded by the Embassy Group to BMRCL.

The government has approved it but on the condition which says, “BMRCL is advised to enter into an MoU with the concerned private party regarding building a new station at Bettahalasuru at the earliest and submit the same the government for reference.” 


New Location To Be Convenient For Kasturi Nagar Residents 

After a detailed study of the previous alignment, the BMRCL decided to shift the Kasturi Nagar station by 559 meters towards the North and the Channasandra station by 289 meters towards the south. The station will now be named as Kasturi Nagar. The order says, “The new location would be convenient for residents of Kasturi Nagar.” 

The 2B Metro line will thus include 17 stations. These are Channasandra, Kasturi Nagar, Babusahebpalya, Horamavu, Kalyan Nagar, Nagawara, HBR Layout, Kempapura, VeerannaPalya, Kodigehalli, Hebbal, Kogilu Cross, Jakkur Cross, Trumpet Junction, Bagalur/PRR Cros, Kogilu Cross, Airport Terminal, Sky Garden.

Changes In Name

The previously proposed names for the stations have been changed. The renamed station names are:


Previous Names    New Names

Babusaheb Palya   HRBR Layout

Kogilu Cross           Yelahanka


Sky Garden             Airport City

Airport terminal        KIA terminal