Here’s The Probable Indian Line-Up For Semifinals Against New Zealand – Shami, Chahal Set To Return

Ahead of the semi-final clash, the greatest theory that falls in everyone’s mind is, what will be Team India’s Possible XI? In recent games, India has been committed to a five-bowler plan with four full-time bowlers and Hardik Pandya bowling all 10 overs despite being a regular full-time bowler. In fact, it will be interesting to see what will be the best spinning combination that Virat Kohli could go for amongst the four spinners like Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, and a possible Kedhar Jadhav.

3 Pacers 1 spinner combination or the other way

For the last group stage match, India had made a couple of changes to their playing XI against Sri Lanka. They rested Mohammed Shami and Yuzvendra Chahal going with Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja instead. Chahal is set to return for the semis but likely in the place of Kuldeep.


As a second more spin, team India will look for the services of Jadeja with batting, bowling, and fielding. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is not taking wickets with the new ball and his economy has also been on the higher side which will force Kohli to look for Shami’s inclusion.


Middle-order crisis

For the middle order crisis, the men in blue may consider Mayank Agarwal, who was flown in as a replacement for Vijay Shankar and could be considered as an opener, with KL Rahul being sent back to the No. 4 spot. But, the question will be, who would be replaced with? It could be Rihab Pant or Dinesh Karthik. However, Karthik was seen engaged in a lengthy net session and it’s much likely he would be dropped from playing XI.

kl rahul

Talking about New Zealand, their highest wicket-taker for the tournament, Lockie Ferguson has recovered from a temporary injury and is all set to come back to the playing XI for the semifinals. However, it will be interesting to see whether he will be replaced by Matt Henry or Tim Southee.


Probable XI:

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (w), Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls/Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), Colin de Grandhomme, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry/Tim Southee, Trent Boult