Here’s The Final List Of PM Modi’s Cabinet For Second Term; First Timers Including Amit Shah

modi cabinet

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan from President Ram Nath Kovind at a big ceremony attended by around 8000 guests. From foreign dignitaries and CM’s of Indian states to former ministers and politicians, celebrities from the sports and entertainment world, as well as business tycoons like Mukesh Ambani and Ratan Tata, attended the event.

Tussle For Seat Of Cabinet Minister 

Apart from Modi, other cabinet ministers were also sworn in at the function. Since the last two days, the speculations were adrift as to who will be a part of the new Modi government. Despite BJP winning more than the required seats for forming a government, since it contested the elections in coalition under NDA, experts were expecting some sort of tussle between its various partners including Shiv Sena, Janata Dal (U), and more.

The duo of Modi and Shah very cleverly managed to adjust the other party members in the cabinet but it seems that JDU is not happy with it. Hence its leader Nitishkumar Bharadwaj decided not to participate in the formation of the government.

First Timers And Absence Of Old Ministers

It was clear right from the start that few of the MPs who were the right-hand of Modi in the earlier government will continue to be in the cabinet in the second term as well. Accordingly, old faces like Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, and Sadananda Gowda have once again been inducted for the second term.

However, old big names like  Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley are not in the list reportedly because of health reasons. Sushma Swaraj who handled the external affairs ministry in the last government did not contest the Lok Sabha elections this year owing to her bad health.

Similarly, Jaitley who was the finance minister during the first term of Modi as PM is undergoing chemotherapy and hence requested the PM not to give any responsibility to him.

Amit Shah, the president of BJP took the oath for cabinet minister for the first time. Similarly, former foreign secretary S Jaishankar is also going to be a cabinet minister in the Modi government. He is neither a Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha member.  

Here is the complete list:

  • Amit Shah (first time)
  • Ravi Shankar Prasad
  • Piyush Goyal
  • Smriti Irani
  • Nirmala Sitharaman
  • Kiren Rijiju
  • Rajnath Singh
  • Nitin Gadkari
  • Dharmendra Pradhan
  • Dr Harshavardhan
  • S Jaishankar
  • Krishan Pal Gurjar
  • Shripad Naik
  • Narendra Singh Tomar
  • Suresh Prabhu
  • Rao Inderjit Singh
  • VK Singh
  • Arjun Ram Meghwal
  • Ram Vilas Paswan
  • Harsimrat KaurRita
  • DV Sadananda Gowda
  • Babul Supriyo
  • Prakash Javadekar
  • Ramdas Athavale
  • Jitender Singh
  • Niranjan Jyoti
  • Parshottam Rupala
  • Thawar Chand Gehlot
  • Rattan Lal Kataria (first time)
  • Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank (first time)
  • RCP Singh (first time)
  • G Kishan Reddy (first time)
  • Suresh Angadi (first time)
  • A Ravindranath
  • Kailash Choudhary (first time)
  • Pralhad Joshi (first time)
  • Som Parkash (first time)
  • Rameshwar Teli (first time)
  • Subrat Pathak (first time)
  • Deboshree Choudhury  (first time)
  • Rita Bahuguna Joshi (first time)