Here’s Why Namma Metro Stations Under Phase 2 Will Be Smaller Than Bengaluru Metro Phase 1

driver less metro

The Bengaluru Metro Rail Corporation Limited (BMRCL) is constructing 12 underground metro stations as a part of its Namma Metro expansion phase II plans.

The 72.1 km corridors for these upcoming metro stations will run along the route of Nagawara-Gottigere route. Albeit the stations in Namma Metro Phase II will be smaller due to higher land acquisition costs.


No Compromise On Amenities Despite Limited Space

At present, there are seven underground metro stations that are a part of Phase I. Five of these stations are 272 meters long and 24 meters wide whereas two other stations are 240 meters long and having the same width as the other five stations.

Interestingly, the 12 underground stations of Namma Metro Phase II are comparatively smaller. The land used for the Phase I is owned by the government whereas the land that is being used for Phase II is privately owned due to which BMRCL had to pay a huge price.

The new underground stations to be constructed in Phase II will be 210 meters long and 24 meters in width. According to the BMRCL officials, they will not compromise on amenities to the passengers at these stations despite limited space availability.


BMRCL To Use Concourse Area For Shifting Amenities

For ensuring that all amenities are in place, BMRCL is planning to close an open space that is currently the concourse area of the underground stations. BMRCL will shift the amenities to this place.

The underground stations that are a part of Phase  II include Bamboo Bazaar, Pottery Road, Dairy Circle, Shivaji Nagar, Mico Layout, Vellara Junction, MG Road, Langford Junction, Tannery Road, Nagawara, Arabic College and Venkateshpura.

Reports indicate that the civil construction department of Larsen & Toubro (L&T)  has received this Namma Metro contract from BMRCL.


This project work will include construction and designing of underground structures, especially stations and tunnels of 2,884 km long from Tannery Road Station to Shivajinagar station, and underground metro stations at Pottery Town and Contonment.