Clean Sweep By BJP In Bengaluru: DV Sadanand Gowda, Tejaswi Surya Take Unassailable Lead

bangalore south

Right from the start, the Bhartiya Janata Party retained its lead in the three constituencies in Bengaluru. PC Mohan from BJP contested against Rizwan Arshad of Congress from Bangalore Central constituency. Tejaswi Surya of BJP was pitted against Congress leader Hariprasad from Bangalore South whereas BJP candidate DV Sadanand Gowda was up against Krishna Byregowda of Indian National Congress.

Facts about Vidhana Soudha

Bangalore North

DV Sadananda Gowda who won the elections from Bangalore North by a gap of 16.9% or 2,29,764 votes in 2014 was in the lead right from the start of the counting. The constituency from the state of Karnataka went to poll on April 18 in the second phase of election and is considered to be the stronghold of BJP.

The party has won the last three elections from this constituency. Syed Hydri Babloo from the Bahujan Samaj Party is also contesting from North Banglore.

Bangalore Central

BJP candidate PC Mohan and Rizwan Arshad from Congress were the two key contestants from the Bangalore Central constituency for this year’s LS elections. In 2014, PC Mohan defeated his rival by a gap of 12.8% or 1,37,500 votes.

However, this year the scenario was a bit tougher for the BJP candidate as he had to battle the combined alliance of JDS-Congress which Rizwan Arshad represented. The campaign in Bangalore Central had an interesting twist as actor Prakash Raj was also fighting from this constituency as an independent candidate. However, Prakash Raj failed to get the response he expected.

This Lok Sabha constituency is also a stronghold of BJP and PC Mohan was the hot favorite to win from here.

Bangalore South

BJP has been undefeated in this constituency since 1991 in Lok Sabha elections and was hopeful to win once again. Tejaswi Surya took the lead right from the start. In between 1996 and 2018, the former Union Minister Ananth Kumar represented Bangalore South constituency. But after his sudden death in November 2018, BJP had to nominate another candidate for Bangalore South and the party picked up Tejaswi Surya.

Despite lacking in experience, the BJP decided to give young Tejaswi Surya the ticket from Bangalore South solely on the basis of his loyalty towards Narendra Modi.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here