India Becomes First ‘Country Of Honor’ At Cannes Film Market; 6 Films To Be Screened

India is the country of honor at the Marche’ Du Films at 75th The Cannes Film Festival and it is the first country to be chosen for this honor at the festival. Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Pooja Hegde, Aditi Rao Hydari, Nayanthara, and more are expected to attend.

Cannes 2022

Cannes 2022 has started with a bang and India is the center of focus. Bollywood Celebrities like Deepika Padukone, R Madhavan, Ricky Kej, Vani Tripathi, Prasoon Joshi, Anurag Thakur, Nawazuddin Siddiqui, and Shekhar Kapur represented India at the Cannes Film Festival red carpet.


Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Thakur tweeted and said that it’s a historic moment to become ‘Country of Honour’ at ‘Marche’ Du Film’.

South Divas at the event

According to the reports, actors Hina Khan and Helly Shah, along with many sought-after South Indian film actors, like Nayanthara, Pooja Hegde, Aditi Rao Hydari, and Tamannaah Bhatia, will be seen at the event. While Hina attended the 72nd Cannes Film Festival in 2019, Helly, Pooja, Nayanthara, Tamannaah, and Aditi will be making their Cannes debut in 2022.

Six Indian movies

The 11-day festival began on May 17 and will continue till May 28. Despite the pandemic and the Covid-19 safety procedures, the 2021 edition of the festival managed to gather a larger number of film stars, after Cannes 2020 was called off following a series of postponements.


Besides this, Six Indian movies will be screened at the Market selected by the Indian Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, and are not part of the Cannes’ official selections. These movies are R Madhavan’s ‘Rocketry The Nambi Effect’, Nikhil Mahajan’s ‘Godavari’, Achal Mishra’s ‘Dhuin’, Shankar Shrikumar’s ‘Alpha Beta Gamma’, Biswajeet Bora’s ‘Boomba Ride’, Jayaraj’s ‘Tree Full of Parrots’.


Indian actor Deepika Padukone has joined seven artists from across the world on the jury at the 75th Cannes Film Festival. The eight-member jury chooses the winner of the Palme d’Or and other awards for the main competition. French actor Vincent Lindon, ( The Measure of a Man) is presiding the team (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), writer-director Asghar Farhadi (A Separation(, Norwegian filmmaker Joachim Trier French writer Ladj Ly, American director Jeff Nichols and Italian actor Jasmine Trinca are also on the jury along with Padukone.