Here’s Why Maharashtra MLAs Are Calling CM Uddhav Thackeray As ‘Kattappa’

Jubilant over the Maharashtra government’s fall, Independent MLA Ravi Rana says Uddhav is paying the price for his ‘Kattappa’ move as he chose Congress by leaving the BJP.

Kattappa of Maharashtra

An almost finishing Maha Vikas Aghadi in Maharashtra, Independent MMaharashtraLA Ravi Rana emphasized that Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray disappointed his MLAs. While speaking to the media, Rana said Uddhav is paying the price for his ‘Kattappa’ move as he chose Congress by leaving the BJP.


“These MLAs got elected in the name of Modi Ji. Shiv Sena then betrayed BJP. There will be a big earthquake in Maharashtra Politics in the coming days. All those angry MLAs will support BJP”, Ravi Rana said.

After the crisis among the party, the Maharashtra chief minister called an emergency meeting. Ten Shiv Sena ‘rebel’ MLAs, including state minister Eknath Shinde, are in Gujarat and all of them are inaccessible. Shiv Sena ‘rebel’ MLAs on Tuesday morning at around 2 am reached the resort in Surat.

“Thirty-nine MLAs accompanied me. We are loyal to Balasaheb Thackeray’s ideology of ‘Hindutva’ and we are keen to take it forward,” he said adding that now he has the support of 46 MLAs, including 6-7 independents.


Seeing the situation Ravi Rana said, “Uddhav Thackeray will pay for his mistakes. He acted like ‘Kattappa’ by leaving the BJP and joining Congress”.

“He (Uddhav) is a failed Chief Minister who didn’t work during the difficult times of the COVID-19 pandemic, never visited any district or village, and disappointed his MLAs. He completely forgot Bal Thackeray’s vision and is now following Congress’s political agenda”, Ravi Rana alleged.

Fadnavis next CM?

Rana further acknowledges that the leader of the Opposition in Maharashtra, Devendra Fadnavis may become the next Chief Minister.


“In the coming time, within two months, Uddhav Thackeray will no longer be the CM. And Devendra Fadnavis will become the CM. BJP will have the Assembly Speaker after secret voting. The Legislative Council chairperson will also be of BJP. Many MLAs of Shiv Sena and Congress are in touch with us. Shiv Sena and Congress will see defections on a large scale. We will definitely bring the no-confidence motion,” he added.