Govt Decides To Repeal Articles 370 And 35A, J&K And Ladakh To Be Separate Union Territories


Home Minister Amit Shah at Rajya Sabha on Monday, proposed to scrap all provisions of Article 370 of the Indian constitution to give special status to Jammu and Kashmir. The government has now decided to divide the state into two Union territories – Jammu and Kashmir, which will have a legislature, and Ladakh, which will be without a legislature.

Article 370 has been proposed to be scrapped

Amit Shah’s announcement in the upper house came in amid tension in Jammu and Kashmir. Looking at the situation the government has also partially suspended mobile and internet services and imposed Section 144 in Jammu and Srinagar given the current situation in the Valley.

The scrapping of article 370 of the constitution will give a special status to Jammu and Kashmir ending the 70 years of stated policy on the state. Shah’s announcement was immediately followed by a massive uproar in the Upper House with opposition MPs protesting in the Well of the House. Shah urged members of parliament to discuss the legislation that seeks to end the autonomous status for Kashmir, which allows only residents to buy a property and hold state government jobs.

J&K and Ladak – Two separate Union Territories

Presenting the division need, the home minister noted that there had been a long-pending demand for Union Territory status to fulfill the aspirations of the people. Shah noted, “Keeping in mind the prevailing security situation” and threat of cross-border terrorism, Jammu and Kashmir would be a separate Union Territory with a legislature. Undoubtedly, this decision of making the two separate Union Territory will give center, the great powers to establish security plans over the region.

In 1949, there was only one Union Territory that is Andaman and Nicobar Island, Since then there are 9 such territories.

Union territories without their legislatures:

• Andaman and Nicobar Islands
• Chandigarh
• Dadra and Nagar Haveli
• Daman and Diu
• Lakshadweep
• Ladakh

Union territories with their legislatures:
• National Capital Territory of Delhi
• Jammu and Kashmir
• Puducherry

Union Territories in India are those regions that are too small to be a state and too unique to be merged as a part of another state. It is the central government that manages the territory by providing a local representative who will represent the region’s interests. Some territories will have legislative assemblies and some do not. Union Territories like Delhi (NCR) and Puducherry have its Legislative assembly and council of ministers. There is also provision for these regions, as they can work efficiently without the help of the central government.

Arun Jaitley posted on facebook and said,

– The government’s decision in relation to Article 370 is a monumental decision towards National integration.

· The decision of the government will help the people of J&K the Most. More investment, more industry, more private educational institutions, more jobs, and more revenue.

· While the Article 370 and Article 35A decision benefits the residents of J&K the most, the Kashmir regional leaders feel that they will not be able to whip up the fake issue of ‘sentiment vs benefit’ to the people.



Previous articleMan vs Wild With Bear Grylls And Prime Minister Modi: 5 Interesting Things You Should Know
Next article‘One Flag, One Nation, One Constitution’ Will Now Come Into Existence Post Scrapping Of Article 370
Life Moto - हस श्वसिहि मंदं गच्छ च ( Smile, breathe and go slowly )


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here