BBMP Mayoral polls: BJP’s M Gowtham Kumar Defeats Congress To Become Next Bengaluru Mayor

source: indianexpress

Bharathiya Janatha Party corporator M Gautham Kumar has been elected as new Mayor of the local civic body after defeating Congress’ Gautam R Sathyanarayan. This is the first time BJP has won the post in four years. He will replace Congress leader Gangambike Mallikarjun as Bengaluru mayor.

BJP wins the mayoral poll

M Gautham Kumar is a is a BJP corporator from Jogupalya (ward 89). He was an official candidate for BJP for Bengaluru’s mayor run. Gautham manages to win 17 votes extra from the Congress candidate. A total of 129 votes was in his favor, while 112 votes went to the Congress candidate RS Sathyanarayana. A total of 249 members were present out of the total strength of 257.


source: indiatoday

Bengaluru’s newly appointed mayor M Goutham Kumar said he will give priority in handling the garbage crisis faced by the city. “Modi’s dream is to make Bengaluru plastic-free and our Chief Minister Yediyurapa’s dream is to solve the traffic problems of Bengaluru. We will work with all the MLAs from this city to realize both these dreams,” Kumar told.

4 years of consistency

While the 43-year-old, M Goutham Kumar was elected the 54th mayor of Bengaluru, CR Rammohan Raju, BJP corporator from Bommanahalli was picked as Bengaluru’s new Deputy Mayor Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), Bengaluru’s local civic body. Interestingly, both candidates got 129 votes each to their respective posts. They both defeated their rivals candidates; R Satyanarayana from Congress got 110 votes and Gangamma of the JD(S) won 108 votes for the elections to the Mayor.

source: indainexpress

For the last four years, Congress had the swing over BBMP. However, this time due to the loss of 4 MLA’s in the city the result was against them. “Victory and loss are a part of democracy. It is our duty to field a candidate. Five MLAs from Bengaluru had been disqualified. There are several corporators who would have backed them. It is not about winning or losing. It is about contesting,” a Congress official told.


Twitter erupts with congratulatory tweets