As Cases Surge, Bengaluru Adds 10 More Containment Zones, Here’s The Full List

quarantine beds in karnataka

With the sudden rise in the number of cases in the city, the number of containment zones has shot up to 36 on Monday evening. On Sunday, the number of containment zones was 26.

Over the past week, the state of Karnataka witnessed a huge spike in the number of positive cases of the novel coronavirus. As of Tuesday, the state has witnessed over 3,796 positive cases. 2,339 cases are still active in the state whereas 1,403 people have been discharged after being recovered successfully. The state has witnessed 52 deaths in the state. On Tuesday, the state witnessed its highest spike of 388 cases.


A Rise in Containment Zone

Over 10 new containment zones have been added to the list on Monday and that has left the citizens and the officials worried. The 10 new containment zones include Siddapura, Hosahalli, Bommanahalli, HSR Layout, Agaram, Kadugodi, Chokkasandra, Chalvadipalya, Jayamahal, and Kempegowda Nagara.

The city was geared up to welcome Unlock 1.0 from June 1st but the rise in the number of cases is hampering the spirit. The BBMP Commissioner BH Anil Kumar spoke to the media and explained that the rise in a number of cases is because of people coming in from other states as most of the cases are either people who have come from Maharashtra or their contacts.

containment zone1
Courtesy: The Hindu

The commissioner also explained that there are repeated names of the wards in the list which is due to more areas in the ward reporting cases. As per the BBMP war room bulletin, then ten newly added containment zones will remain active till at least June 27th while other wards which were added earlier is set to see some relaxations from the 6th of June. The bulletin also mentions the extension of containment measures in some of the wards.


Here is the list of containment zones:

  • Hongasandra (W-189)
  • Mangammanapalya (W-190)
  • Begur (W-192)
  • Puttenhalli (W-187)
  • Bommanahalli (W-175)
  • HSR Layout (W-174)
  • Hoodi (W-54)
  • Hagadur (W-84
  • Varthur (W-149)
  • Ramamurthy Nagar (W-26)
  • Marathalli (W-86)
  • Kadugodi (W-83)
  • Nagavara (W-23)
  • HBR Layout (W-24)
  • Shivajinagar (W-92)
  • Vammarpet (W-115)
  • SK Garden (W-61)
  • Agaram (W-114)
  • BTM Layout (W-176)
  • Lakkasandra (W-146)
  • Siddapura (W-144)
  • Hosahalli (W-124)
  • Malleshwaram (W-45)
  • Padaranayapura (W-135)
  • Jagajeevanram Nagar (W-136)
  • Marappana Palya (W-44)
  • Agrahara Dasarahalli (W-105)
  • Thanisandra (W-06)
  • Herohalli (W-72)
  • Jnanabharathinagar (W-129)
  • Chokkasandra (W-39)
  • Jayamahal (W-63)
  • Chalavadipalya (W-138)
  • Kempegowda (W-1)

Source: The New Indian Express