After Kumble And Dravid, Tendulkar Becomes 6th Indian Batsman To Be Inducted Into ICC Hall Of Fame

The man who has 100 centuries across all formats, Sachin Tendulkar, the most inventive batsman in history has become the latest cricketer to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. The Master Blaster becomes sixth Indian after, Bishan Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble, and Rahul Dravid to receive this honor.

Sachin Tendulkar included in ICC Hall of Fame

On Thursday at a ceremony in London, along with Sachin Tendulkar, South Africa’s Allan Donald and Australia’s Cathryn Fitzpatrick were inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame. It is now more than 5 years from now after his retirement from international cricket, Sachin received this honor for having the highest run overall in the international cricket including Test and One Day Internationals.


“On this occasion, I would like to thank all of those who were by my side over a long international career. My parents, brother Ajit and wife Anjali have been pillars of strength while I was lucky to have someone like coach Ramakant Achrekar as an early guide and mentor,” Tendulkar said.

“I am also thankful to all my captains, fellow players and the BCCI and the MCA administrators over the years for their support and for making me enjoy the game so much and for so long. I thank the ICC for this appreciation of my cricket career and I am happy to note that cricket continues to grow with three popular formats.”

Sachin Tendulkar has played 200 matches in Test, scoring 15,921 runs and 51 centuries. In his 463 matches in ODI’s, he has scored 18,426 runs and 49 centuries. And he is the only man to score 100 centuries in all international cricket.


The previous Indian who was introduced into the ICC Hall of Fame was Rahul Dravid in 2018. Other Indians in this list are Bishan Singh Bedi (2009), Sunil Gavaskar (2009), Kapil Dev (2009), Anil Kumble (2015).

Alland Donald received the same

South African speedster Alland Donald was another legend alongside Sachin to be honored with this title. He has picked 330 wickets in Tests and 272 in ODI and was arguably Proteas fastest bowler. He played his last match in February 2003.

“The biggest shock when you open an e-mail like that – it says congratulations Allan Donald, you have been inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame! It hits you, it hits you quite hard because it is a prestigious award and something that you can’t take lightly. I thank the ICC for the huge honor,” said Allan Donald.


8th Woman to receive the honor

Cathryn Fitzpatrick, recognized as the world’s fastest women pace bowler, becomes the 8th Woman to win this award. It was she who helped Australia win two ICC Women’s Cricket World Cups, and also finished with 60 wickets in 13 Tests.

“To gain recognition alongside many of the games’ giants is a huge honor. I look at the list of past inductees and what stands out most is not only their outstanding talent but that they were game-changers. They took the game on and changed the way it was played,” Fitzpatrick said.