8 personalities from Karnataka bag the Padma award

Eight personalities including former C M S M Krishna, and writer S L Byrappa from Karnataka have bagged this year’s Padma awards. Out of the eight awardees, four of them belong to the Mysuru district.

Padma awardees from Karnataka

Former Chief Minister S M Krishna (Padma Vibhushan) in Public Affairs, S L Bhyrappa (Padma Bhushan) in Literature & Education, Sudha Murty (Padma Bhushan) in Social Work, Khadar Valli Dudekula (Padma Shri) in Science & Engineering, S Subbaraman (Padma Shri) in Archaeology, Rani Machiah (Padma Shri), Munivenkatappa for Thamate exponent, Shah Rasheed Ahmed Quadri (Padma Shri); are the Eight of the Padma awardees announced on Wednesday ahead of the Republic Day.


CM Bommai On Padma Awards

Expressing happiness over Padma Awards being conferred on 8 prominent Kannadigas from different walks of life, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai on Thursday said it shows the abundant talent that Karnataka has.

Reported in Rupulic world, Bommai expressed gratitude to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP-led NDA government at the Centre for picking people, who have made rich contributions to the nation without any expectations, for the award.

“Eight persons from Karnataka-including former CM S M Krishna, social worker Sudha Murty and noted Kannada litterateur Prof S L Byrappa have been selected for Padma awards. The selection of eight persons from Karnataka shows the bountiful talents that Karnataka has. The government will like to congratulate everyone,” Bommai said.